New Beginnings

Posted: January 2, 2014 in Uncategorized

Although this is a new blog, I am not new to the blogging world. I may not have written in about a year, but the last site I ran was centered around health and fitness as well. My last blog was an exploration of different workout programs, from HIIT to isolated weight training, and different diets, from paleo to veganism. When I started my health and fitness journey about 5 years ago, I had no idea what would work best for me, hence the wide variety of programs.

The reason I’m starting over is because I feel as though I have found what works best for me; CrossFit and paleoism. I know it seems to have become all the rage over the last year and although I started both at the beginning of it, I truly enjoy it and feel that my body responds best to both. I am getting to the point where I really want to track my progress and get better, hence why I am starting a blog where I can keep track of everything and maybe help some others out along their journey.

I’ve been CrossFitting for about a year now and have seen some major improvements in regards to my strength, flexibility, and even my confidence in trying new things and believing in myself. I am constantly striving to hit new PR’s and perfect my technique. I honestly don’t think I would have gotten this far on my own, working out by myself in a globo-gym like before. The community is amazing and I love having coaches around constantly to help out when I’m stuck. There is nothing more motivating than either 1) trying to beat the person next to you or 2) pushing through the last grueling reps while your classmates cheer you on.

As for the diet aspect, I notice a lot of positive changes when I really stick to it; my joints don’t hurt nearly as much as normal, I rarely feel bloated, I have lots of energy, and my skin clears up. I haven’t had any issues cutting out legumes (well, except peanut butter. I can never seem to find almond butter anywhere) or dairy, but have a total addiction to sugar and gluten, but not necessarily in the form people think. I am fine without pasta or bread, but just can’t seem to really bare down and knix out random things like sauces with added gluten/sugar or sugary, sweet treats.

So with that in mind, I have set some goals for myself for 2014:

  1. Complete a Whole30 challenge starting January 8th
  2. Complete the 90 day nutrition challenge through Eat to Perform
  3. Complete at least 1 cycle of the Wendler program

I of course want to lose body fat (about 5%), but know that that will probably come as a result of achieving the goals above, so I’m not focusing directly on it. I will be starting these programs soon and will blog my way through them, so, here we go!!

Leave a Reply

