Whole30: Day 14

Posted: January 19, 2014 in Whole30 Challenge
Tags: ,

Has anyone used the Sleep Cycle app before? I’ve been using it for about a year and although I’m sure it’s not totally accurate, I like that it shows the amount of deep sleep I’m getting. Sadly my “sleep quality” percentage is always between 50-60% which I’ll equate to the fact that I’m a side sleeper and have had the worst pillows for far too long. I finally splurged on new pillows a couple weeks ago that have made a huge difference in regards to waking up with a lot less pain in my neck and back, but I’m still tossing and turning a lot. After having so many people tell me to try melatonin, I ordered some online and tried it out for the first time last night. I definitely woke up feeling rested and obviously my app agreed with me, but I had a hard time waking up after 8 hours of sleep and ended up going back to bed for 2 more and that was only after half a dose. It could have been a fluke, so I’ll try again tonight and see how it goes.

20140119-150554.jpg

After finally waking up, I had a banana before heading to the gym for Week 2, Day 4 of the Wendler Program

20140119-150602.jpg

Today was back squat and bench press day (I was so tired last week that I didn’t get to the gym as much as I wanted).

20140119-150610.jpg

Breakfast: 2 hard boiled eggs, 2 clementines, and a small handful of pistachios

20140119-150616.jpg

Snack: A small pack of Krave Jerky. I loooooove Krave Jerky, but sadly, this pack must have been really old or something because it was super dry and actually hurt my teeth when I chewed it 😦

20140119-150627.jpg

Lunch: Same as yesterday… tuna and egg salad with steamed broccoli, carrots, and parsnips with 1/4 avocado

20140119-150640.jpg

Snack 2: Banana Bread Larabar

20140122-204758.jpg

Although I get tomorrow off for MLK Day, I wanted to get my food prepped so that I could wake up early to knock out all my cooking. Since tomorrow is my first day off in two weeks (I work 7 days a week), I’m heading up to a friends house to have a Pinterest Day… that’s where we pick some craft off Pinterest that we want to make and then get together to hang out and craft. Kind of dorky, but it’s a ton of fun.

So anyway, I chopped all my veggies and prepped as much of my food as possible so I could just grab it and cook. Cutting 4 onion at once probably wasn’t my best idea…

From this…

20140122-205713.jpg

To this!

20140122-204747.jpg

I also pulled out all of the spices I’ll need so that I don’t have to waste time searching for them. Sometimes I amaze myself with how smart I am 😉

20140122-204807.jpg

Leave a Reply

