Whole30: Day 18

Posted: January 23, 2014 in Whole30 Challenge
Tags: ,

I’ve honestly really enjoyed the Whole30 Challenge so far. I ain’t gonna lie, it was hard the first couple of days, but once I started feeling really good (physically and mentally) and found some amazing paleo recipes that I really loved, it started getting easier and easier. I have no doubt that I will make it to 30 days with little to no problems and that I’ll continue on afterwards.

However, I find that I am still having some mental battles with certain foods. For instance, I can see a box of bagels or donuts and although they look/smell amazing, I don’t physically want them (that much). I know they’ll taste good, but now I automatically think of how sick I’ll feel afterwards or how guilty I’ll feel that I just spent all this time detoxing my body from this junk and all it took was one time to put it back in and that I have to start all over again.

What’s kind of crazy to me, but refreshing, is that I really want just want a bowl of banana soft serve with a couple chocolate chips or this amazing chocolate avocado mousse I like to make. They’re healthier, paleo treats and that’s what I want over donuts or candy. It’s just amazing to me that my cravings have already changed so dramatically in just a few weeks. My only hope is that the mental cravings don’t overpower me when I’m done with the Whole30 and I start eating the bad stuff again just because my mind wants it and then those physical addictions come back.

Breakfast: Caramelized onion frittata and a small banana

20140123-160443.jpg

Snack: Larabar and a small handful of pistachios

20140123-160451.jpg

Lunch: Spaghetti pizza pie and steamed brussels sprouts

20140123-160500.jpg

Snack: 3 clementines and a small handful of pistachios

20140123-160507.jpg

Dinner: Paleo chicken pot pie

20140123-160514.jpg

Have you done the Whole30 Challenge? How did you find that your cravings changed if at all?

Leave a Reply

