Whole30: Day 19

Posted: January 24, 2014 in Whole30 Challenge
Tags: ,

I can’t believe it’s already the end of the week. Since we had Monday off and I worked from home on Wednesday due to the cold/snow, it feels like it’s only Wednesday. Not to mention working 7 days a week really throws me off…

Last night I pulled out my favorite (and only) paleo cookbooks to thumb through and plan out my menu for next week. I know it seems premature to be planning for next week, but honestly, my weekends are just as busy as my weekdays since I work 7 days a week. I’m trying to get in the habit of planning my menu throughout the week, grocery shopping Friday night or Saturday morning, prepping what I can Saturday night, then cooking Sunday morning. It’s a pain in the ass, but if I didn’t plan, I know I would fall off the wagon in a heartbeat.

20140125-153105.jpg

I spent a lot of time reading these cookbooks before buying to make sure I would actually use them, so I love them all for different reasons. I’ve also heard a lot of great things about the Well Fed cookbooks, so I’m excited to add those to my collection in the future. However, my favorite cookbook so far has been Paleo Slow Cooking. I’ve made a handful of recipes from this book and the ingredient lists are always so simple, but everything turns out so flavorful. Plus, I love that I can just toss everything into the crock-pot and it’s done when I get home from work or wake up in the morning. To make life a little easier, I’m going to start planning 1 crock-pot meal a week into my menu so that I can eliminate that cooking time from my already crazy Sunday mornings.

In other cooking news, I made my own almond milk and beef jerky! I can’t seem to find a Whole30 compliant brand of either, so I decided to give it a whirl and make my own. The almond milk was extremely easy, I’ll post my “how to” soon. The beef jerky was OK, it never fully dried out, so I’m going to attempt it again and hopefully have a recipe up soon for you guys.

So there are a couple reasons I have a second job… the main reason is that I have a shit load of student loans (seriously, it’s insane) and I really want to start making a dent in them. I figured I’m single, I don’t have any kids, and the weather is shitty here in DC during the winter, so why not work an extra job on the weekends for extra money. Oh, the other reason is because I’m a shopaholic and may have some credit card debts thrown in there too. It’s not bad, but I just don’t like having it. Anyway, there are some things I’ve really been wanting lately (and a few things I need, but they feel frivolous), so I made a list so that I could start saving for them. I laughed when I was done writing it out. A year ago it would’ve been more along the lines of clothes, shoes, and travel. Now it’s mostly CrossFit gear. At the top of my list is the weightlifting shoes, but they’re just too damn expensive right now. 😦

shopping list

OK, enough yapping, sorry!

This mornings WOD looked easy, but not so much. At least not for me. I’ve started doing strict handstand pushups with 2 ab mats, but the coach wanted us to go full depth, so I did them from my knees using a box. I hate doing them that way because they’re way too easy, but being on my toes is too hard. I don’t get it. I also hate hollow rocks and can never seem to do many at a time. It just wasn’t fun.

20140125-154308.jpg

Breakfast: 2 servings of caramelized onion frittata and a small banana

20140125-153121.jpg

20140125-153131.jpg

Snack: Larabar and a pack of Krave jerky

20140125-153231.jpg

20140125-153253.jpg

Lunch: The last of my spaghetti pizza pie 😦

Snack: 1/2 Whole pack of dried mango from Whole Foods

20140125-153307.jpg

Yeeeeeah. I went to Whole Foods to pick up a jar of Tessamae’s BBQ sauce and grabbed a pack of dried mango too. It didn’t even taste very good honestly, but I think I just zoned out and kept eating and ended up with the worst stomach ache.

Dinner: The last of my spaghetti pizza pie

20140122-205121.jpg

When I got home from work, I spent the evening narrowing down my meal plan and writing out my grocery list. I didn’t check sales prices like I had wanted to, I was just too damn tired to bother.

What are some of your favorite cookbooks or blogs to get recipes from? What’s on your list of things you’d like to buy?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

