Whole30: Day 20

Posted: January 25, 2014 in Whole30 Challenge
Tags: ,

I’m 2/3 of the way done with my first Whole30 Challenge!! I honestly did not think I’d make it this far which is kind of sad, but I really just do not have that great of will power. It’s of course something I’ve always wanted to work on and this has been a really good challenge.

I started off my morning with the Saturday WOD. These ones always scare me a little just because they’re so much harder than the weekday ones, but I honestly need the challenge and am always excited to do them.

crossfit adaptation saturday wod

After the gym, I headed straight for the grocery store. Usually I go to BJ’s Wholesale, but realized I forgot my damn member card. So annoying! So I headed to Harris Teeter instead. After getting my produce, I headed to the meat section and was totally grossed out by the name brand selections. I usually buy from the meat counter where they have more organic options, but unfortunately they weren’t open that early. I’ve seen way too many documentaries on the food industry to never want to eat any meat from the large name brand companies ever. After giving up in frustration, I bought my produce and headed to Whole Foods to grab my meats. Only 3 lbs of sausage, a pack of chicken breasts, and 2 packs of chicken thighs cost me almost $70!! As much as I want to always buy organic, free range, grass fed meats, I just can’t afford that right now. I honestly don’t see how anyone can afford that all the time, especially living in DC. And I have 2 jobs!!

grocery haul

Breakfast: Paleo chicken pot pie

paleo chicken pot pie

Snack: Homemade beef jerky and a couple apple slices

Snack: Larabar

peanut butter cookie larabar

Lunch: Paleo chicken pot pie and rest of the apple from earlier with almond butter

paleo chicken pot pie

(Can you tell I’m trying to eat up the last of last weeks meal prep??)

And after an already long day, I of course had to prep what I could to make my cooking in the morning just a little bit easier.

What foods do you decide to spend extra money on? What do you wish you could, but just can’t afford or find?

Leave a Reply

